VI Latin-American Algorithms, Graphs, and Optimization Symposium LAGOS'11

Hotel Edelweiss, Bariloche, Argentina March 28th to April 1st, 2011

http://www-2.dc.uba.ar/lagos2011/

LAGOS'11 - Celebrating 30 years from the publication of M. Grötschel, L. Lovász, and A. Schrijver "The Ellipsoid Method and its Consequences in Combinatorial Optimization" fundamental article

Third Call for Papers

Organization:

- Computer Science Department, School of Natural and Exact Sciences, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
- Sciences Institute, National University of General Sarmiento, Argentina
- Laboratoire d'Informatique, Paris-Nord University, France

About the Symposium:

LAGOS - Latin-American Algorithms, Graphs, and Optimization Symposium, is the union of two Latin-American Conferences on these subjects: GRACO - the Brazilian Symposium on Graphs, Algorithms, and Combinatorics and LACGA - the Latin-American Conference on Combinatorics, Graphs, and Applications.

The previous editions were held in Fortaleza, Brazil (2001), Santiago, Chile (2004), Angra dos Reis, Brazil (2005), Puerto Varas, Chile (2007), and Gramado, Brazil (2009). The proceedings of the accepted papers were published in Electronic Notes in Discrete Mathematics, and special editions of Discrete Applied Mathematics were dedicated to refereed full papers from these events.

Symposium Subjects:

Subjects include, but are not limited to, the following AMS classification:

- Algorithms: analysis of algorithms; approximation algorithms; randomized algorithms;
- Operations Research and Mathematical Programming: combinatorial optimization; integer programming; polyhedral combinatorics; operations research and management science;
- Graph Theory: cliques, dominating and independent sets; coloring of graphs and hypergraphs; covering and packing, factorization, matching; digraphs, tournaments; graph algorithms; graphs and matrices; hypergraphs; perfect graphs; random graphs; structural characterization of types of graphs.
- Applications: mathematical programming, combinatorial optimization, continuous optimization, heuristics and metaheuristics, applied to real-world problems.

Deadline for Submissions and Author Notification:

Submissions are due **November 15th, 2010**. A special volume of the **Electronic Notes in Discrete Mathematics** will be dedicated to accepted extended abstracts. Submission instructions can be found at the symposium web page. Acceptance/rejection notices will be sent to authors via e-mail by January 31st, 2011. Selected refereed papers from the Symposium will appear in a special issue of **Discrete Applied Mathematics**.

Grants for students:

There will be a limited amount of grants for graduate and undergraduate students. Students interested in these grants should send an e-mail to <code>lagos2011@dc.uba.ar</code> before December 31st, 2010 explaining why they want to participate in this Symposium. Attached with this e-mail, they should send a brief CV and a recommendation letter of a professor of their University. The presentation and the attached files may be written in English, Spanish or Portuguese. The decision concerning these applications will be made by the Organizing Committee and will be notified to the applicants by January 31st, 2011 Preference will be given to students who are going to present a work in the Symposium.

LAGOS Steering Committee:

Thomas M. Liebling (EPFL, Switzerland) Jayme Szwarcfiter (UFRJ, Brazil)

Invited Speakers:

Martin Grötschel (ZIB Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and DFG-Forschungszentrum Matheon, Germany)
László Lovász (U. Eötvös Loránd, Hungary)
Guillermo Durán (UBA, Argentina and U. Chile, Chile)
Donald Goldfarb (Columbia University, USA)
Daniel Gonçalves (U. Montpellier 2, France)
Abílio Lucena (UFRJ, Brazil)
Martín Matamala (U. Chile, Chile)
Gianpaolo Oriolo (U. Tor Vergata, Italy)
Gautier Stauffer (U. Bordeaux 1, France)
Nicolás Stier Moses (Columbia University, USA)
Annegret Wagler (U. Blaise Pascal, France)

Scientific Committee:

Liliana Alcón (UNLP, Argentina)

Flavia Bonomo (UBA, Argentina - co-chair) Héctor Cancela (UDELAR, Uruguay) Cid Carvalho de Souza (UNICAMP, Brazil) Márcia Cerioli (UFRJ, Brazil) Mitre Dourado (UFRJ, Brazil) Mariana Escalante (UNR, Argentina) Luerbio Faria (UFRJ, Brazil) Esteban Feuerstein (UBA, Argentina) Carlos Ferreira (USP, Brazil) Celina de Figueiredo (UFRJ, Brazil) Sylvain Gravier (U. Grenoble, France) Marisa Gutierrez (UNLP, Argentina) Yoshiharu Kohayakawa (USP, Brazil) Marcos Kiwi (U. Chile, Chile) Benjamin Lévêque (U. Montpellier, France) Claudio Lucchesi (FACOM-UFMS, Brazil) Nelson Maculan (UFRJ, Brazil) Frédéric Maffray (G-SCOP, France) Javier Marenco (UNGS, Argentina - co-chair) Graciela Nasini (UNR, Argentina) Andrea Pacifici (U. Tor Vergata, Italy) Miguel Pizaña (UAM, Mexico) Fábio Protti (UFF, Brazil) Iván Rapaport (U. Chile, Chile) Celso C. Ribeiro (UFF, Brazil) Luiz Satoru Ochi (UFF, Brazil) Mario Valencia-Pabón (U. Paris 13, France) Annegret Wagler (U. Magdeburg, Germany) Yoshiko Wakabayashi (USP, Brazil) Andrés Weintraub (U. Chile, Chile) Paula Zabala (UBA, Argentina)

Organizing Committee:
Flavia Bonomo (UBA, Argentina - co-chair)
Javier Marenco (UNGS, Argentina - co-chair)
Mario Valencia-Pabón (U. Paris 13, France - co-chair)
Mónica Braga (UNGS, Argentina)
Diego Delle Donne (UNGS, Argentina)
Luciano Grippo (UNGS, Argentina)
Daniela Sabán (UBA, Argentina)
Martín Safe (UNGS, Argentina)